African Cichlid Hub Forum

Author Topic: Help with stocking  (Read 553 times)

Offline lukewd85

• Egg
Help with stocking
« on: September 28, 2017, 10:21:52 PM »
Hi everyone. I have a few posts in different sections. This post is mainly as I am a beginner in keeping malawis. I am struggling to find anywhere decent to buy them. I think I am going with mbuna. Could anyone please help me with which mbuna are good for someone new to keeping them. I have been keeping fish for 15 years or more mainly large and monster cichlids and other fish though . Any help would be really appreciated.  Thanks everyone.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Offline chopstick_mike

• Sub Adult
Re: Help with stocking
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2017, 12:21:09 AM »
Rustys and yellow labs are great beginner mbuna to have together  as they're relatively peaceful and colourful

Offline Mike718

• Global Moderator
  • Boss
  • Tank Gallons: 120
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 01:31:14 AM »
I'm not a mbuna guy so I can't help you there. What size tank do you have?where are you located?
Don't Forget....PICKS FOR KICKS!

Offline lukewd85

• Egg
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2017, 01:23:43 PM »
I have a 240 jewel at the moment. in 3 months or so going to a 550l . Had to get rid of my 1400l as the wife wanted to decorate [emoji24].

Offline Mike718

• Global Moderator
  • Boss
  • Tank Gallons: 120
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2017, 02:41:25 PM »
I have a 240 jewel at the moment. in 3 months or so going to a 550l . Had to get rid of my 1400l as the wife wanted to decorate [emoji24].

Dam women ruin everything don't they? 😂 550l is still a bite size and give you some good options for stocking. Where are you located? Someone will be able to help you with sourcing some quality fish
Don't Forget....PICKS FOR KICKS!

Offline Kingston1

• Adult
  • Tank Gallons: 140
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2017, 06:46:09 PM »
Rustys, Yellow Labs, and Saulosi are good choices till you get the 550L tank.