African Cichlid Hub Forum

Author Topic: All about african cichlids  (Read 625 times)

Offline FrontosaFan

• Egg
All about african cichlids
« on: June 23, 2017, 03:56:32 PM »
Hi everyone, I am a newbie when it comes to the world of African cichlids and have done some research about them. 
As you can tell by my name, the Frontosa is my absolute favourite fish by far! I have hear the frontosa is not suitable for beginners but could I start out with it or is it not recommended. If not what  other cichlids are good for beginners. I know there are  3 lakes  and I like peacocks the most.

Any pointers?
Regards Thomas

Sent from my SM-T815 using Tapatalk

Offline waycool6

• Sub Adult
  • Tank Gallons: 220
Re: All about african cichlids
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2017, 02:27:51 PM »
Frontosa can grow to 33 cm 1.1 foot You will need a big tank but the benefits of a big take is its easier to meantime If Frontosa is what you want I would say go for it beginner or not  IMO as long as you have some experience with fish keeping you will be fine they are very nice fish that are best kept in groups I think a sepsis tank would be the best idea but there are some tank mates you can put with them you cant really keep them with none carnivores fish. But you could maybe keep them with giraffe cichlids (Nimbochromis venustus) There are members on here that keep them so What for more advice from the guys that know more about them than me.             
« Last Edit: June 25, 2017, 02:43:49 PM by waycool6 »
Nyererei frontosa clown loach Red tailed shark TBM Red Rubin OBM  Orange Blotch F1M Baenschi F1M Maylandi Sulphur Head F1M Jacobfriebergi TBM Pink Albino fire fish TBM Fire fish TBM Gold Red Eye TBM Dragon blood x2 F1M moori Dolphins. F1M livingstoni F1M Venustus F1M borleyi red fin F1M steveni tiger F1M Super VC-10 hap F1M fryeri/ahli F1M Red Empress 2x F1M Aulonocara sp. "Maleri /1`x Orange 1x white Peacock

Offline FrontosaFan

• Egg
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2017, 02:31:01 PM »