African Cichlid Hub Forum

Author Topic: Hi guys new to african cichlids could i please get some advice thanks  (Read 3212 times)

Offline Seditro

• Egg
Hello guys!

I am just getting into african cichlids and i have been doing alot of reading many many youtube videos and now i feel a little confused on it all so i was wondering if you could help me clear a few things up

My set up is Nd Aquatics 6x2x2ft tank with 1 Fx6 filter do i need wave makers as well?

Now to my confusion The fish i do not know what type to keep

now i like the peacocks very pretty fish but i also like the mbuna but i cant keep them together can i?

also if i was going to go just for a mbuna only tank can i keep all different types together for example
was looking through Tony's Africans just to get a idea of different fish and after googling i come up with nothing
so i want to know can i keep the followin fish in my tank with little to no problems also how many would you recommend in a tank that size?

CYNOTILAPIA AFRA COBUE
PSEUDOTROPHEUS ELONGATUS CHEWERE
LABIDOCHROMIS SUPER RED TOP HONGI
METRIACLIMA ZEBRA LONG PELVIC "GALLIREYA REEF"
LABIDOCHROMIS CAERULEUS YELLOW LABS
PSEUDOTROPHEUS DEMASONI
PSEUDOTROPHEUS ELONGATUS MPHANGA
CYNOTILAPIA AFRA "JALO REEF"

these are the mbuna i like the look of do they all mix well together? a little confused on the stocking really as i read you need to have a lot to level out aggression I'm thinkin 4 of each 2 male 2 female? ( as tony states what he trys to send you )

any other advice or would be greatly appreciated

Offline chopstick_mike

• Sub Adult
You don't usually mix peacocks with mbuna as they have different diets , the mbuna you've chosen are cool but you may get problems as some look very similar to other like the demasoni and mphanga which will spark aggression towards each other.
I would choose 1 male to 2 female of the species you choose

Offline Fishboy

• Boss
  • Tank Gallons: 180